Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa carries the ball against The Citadel Nov. 17 in Tuscaloosa, Ala. However, the Alabama quarterback received a couple of positive signs Thursday as he beat out fellow Heisman finalist Kyler Murray for both the Walter Camp and Maxwell awards given to college football's player of the year.

He also won AP National Player of the Year earlier in the day, and is one of the favorites to take home the Heisman Trophy on Saturday.

On Thursday night, the nation's best college football players gathered for an awards show of epic proportions. Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins Jr. was third. He beat out Oklahoma's Kyler Murray and West Virginia's Will Grier for the award.

Murray was drafted by the A's in the first round of the 2018 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft and said he would give up football after playing this season with the Sooners. But after a campaign that could see him enshrined as college football royalty, Murray might want to try to have his cake and eat it too.

This year's Heisman Trophy ceremony will be aired on ESPN at 7 p.m. CT from the New York Marriott Marquis in Times Square.

NASA InSight hears 'haunting low rumble' on Mars
NASA shared two copies of the wind recording, one as it was captured and another adjusted for playback on phones and laptops. But the scientists warned not to get too attached to these recordings, because they won't last long.

The last five winners of the Walter Camp have gone on to win the Heisman, but only five Heisman winners have failed to win AP Player of the Year since the award started in 1998. No other school has had more than two players win AP Player of the Year.

- Kentucky linebacker Josh Allen won the Chuck Bednarik award as the nation's top defensive player. Tagovailoa has thrown for 3,353 yards, 37 touchdowns to four interceptions and has completed almost 68 percent of his passes.

After a record-setting season, Murray is set to take home a list of awards, starting with this one. Murray has thrown for 4,053 yards and 40 touchdowns while rushing for over 800 yards and 11 touchdowns.

Murray was Mayfield's backup last season and won the starter's job in preseason practice.